#waterwomenwednesday part 2

SATIVA THIES

bild sativa1.jpg

Where are you from and where do you live?

I’m from a small fishing village in Alaska called Homer. Since 2001 I’ve been living around the equator, last eight years I’ve been lucky enough to call the Dominican republic my home.

How and when did you start surfing or kiting (or both)?

In the year 2000 I was 18 and traveling in Asia.  My best friend and I stayed in a small surf in Sri Lanka. The first time I ever caught a wave I road the entire thing on my belly screaming in disbelief. I was hooked even though it took me a entire week to stand up on the broken 6”8.

Do you do anything else besides surfing/kiting?

I have a pop up bikini boutique called Saltwater Swimwear.

Do you have a workout regime? If yes, how does it look like and how many times a week?

There is a ebb and flow with my workouts. When I do workout it’s some form of cardio and then floor exercises followed by weights and then cool down stretching. 

Do you have a bedtime or morning routine? If yes how does it look like.?

Morning routine is ideally coffee blended with coconut oil, turmeric and cinnamon followed by wave check.

Night time routine is chocolate.

Do you have any goals in life? 

Make baskets by hand. 

What are your insecurities? 

I’m terrible at being a adult. 

What are the 3 things you like most about yourself?

I have a sense of humor. If I don’t make you laugh I’ll make myself laugh.

I have a lot of good friends 

I’m make eye contact when I meet someone whether they are homeless or a millionaire. 

How does your nutrition look like on a usual day?

Veggies, fruits and nuts is 70% of my diet. 20% healthy grains and 10% guilty pleasures such a pizza and chocolate.

What are your hobbies?

I love all forms of art so recently I’ve been getting into doing stick & poke tattoo.

What are your favorite kind of clothes? 

Rompers-100%. Whoever invented the romper is a damn genius. The concept is amazing: you just put one thing on and you’re dressed.

Do you have any pets? 

21/2 dogs that I co parent. One is a Chihuahua so she barely counts as a dog.

What make up do you like to use?

I use Jeewn sunscreen  religiously because my skin is pretty worked from being in the sun so many years and I need to protect what’s left of it. 

Whats in your beach bag? 

I like to pack light: a sarong sunscreen, wax, wax comb and a reusable Bikini Bag for my dry/wet bikini, conditioner, glass water bottle that I refill in my house to avoid plastic waste. 

Do you have a special hair routine?

After surf I always put Argan oil in my hair.

What is in your lugguage?

Usually a bunch of Rompers some comfortable shorts, tank tops a pair of shoes and a bunch a bunnnchhhhh of bikinis! 

How big is it and what goes always in? 

When I was younger I swore I would only ever use a backpack. Traveling now with the longboard I’ve turned to the dark side and I use roller luggage. 

What would your dream weekend look like?

Endless uncrowded waves and some  friends, good food, lots of laughter of course animals everywhere. Basically jungle life. 

What is a typical day like for you?

Right now I’m on holidays so coffee surf check, surf, eat, surf check, surf, paint, eat, surf check, surf, eat, sleep repeat..

What is the first thing you do when you wake up?

I stretch child’s pose on my bed because I sleep on my stomach. When I’m up I brush my teeth before...COFFEE!! Coffee I consider a absolute necessity. I literally cannot have a conversation before coffee I have no personality. Quite honestly picture me like the walking dead until I’ve had my 1st cup.

@sensi_tiva

@sensi_tiva

Favorites:

Place to surf/kite “The Mill” in Costa Rica. 

Breakfast I have breakfast for lunch, normally some variation of a fruit salad with a coconut chia pudding and shredded fresh ginger on top

Foods Everything Asian, healthy, & Italian.

Drinks Smoothies kambucha 

Books My favorite books is “The Dove” by Robin Lee Graham and autobiography of a 16 year old boy that sails alone around the world in the late 60’s

Movies or TV Right now and forever Fresh Prince if Bell Air 

Thing to do on a saturday night I’m nicknamed the grandma for a reason kids. On a Saturday I’m cooking dinner and chillin in the house.

Music Anything that sounds good.