Potrait Laila.jpg


Hey friends, my name is Laila Puehringer, living the dream as a Professional Kitesurfer on the French Basque coast.

Austrian-born, to a Morrocan Mother and Austrian Father growing up in Vienna, I spent half of my childhood in Morocco by the Atlantic. This built my passion for the ocean and water sports, traveling the world and learning langueages. It was also through traveling that I was blessed to meet my husband , the love of my life and best friend. My experiences helped me to learn English, Spanish, and French, and my love for languages and knowing different cultures continues to grow and is a part of my heart.

My love for the ocean and water? Let’s just say I learned how to swim before I learned how to walk. In 2006 I moved to the Cabarete, Dominican Republic for two years and that's where my kite surfing career took off.

I now spend most of the year living in Biarritz, chasing waves and following my dreams. Most of the time you'll find me in the water, surfing, swimming or snorkling.

When I am not in the water, which is quiet out of the ordinary, you find me playing boardgames, decluttering for my friends, training or dancing. I am afraid of knifes and canceled flights. I love Sushi and Moroccan food and if I could, I'd eat it everyday.

Enviromental protection is very important to me. My goal is to encourage people to live in harmony with nature and do their part every day to live more sustainable and ocean friendly lives.






Biarritz, France but I originally from Vienna/Austria



Major accomplishments

Being able to compete in world tour of kitesurfing and signing with adidas

Perfect day

Morning surf, than the beach with friends and a nice BBQ with some boardgames

Coolest place you’ve ever been

Hawaii, Morocco and France

Favorite surf spot

Cote des Basques, Immsouane and one spot I have to keep it a secret 😉

When I was little I wanted to be

A witch with magic skills…

Guilty pleasure

Chocolate and everything with coconut at the moment

Favorite book

Throne of Glass, A Court of Thornes and Roses, everything by Horst Evers

My secret talent is

Dancing, but it is not a secret, baking vegan carrot cake and I am a professional declutterer!

If I were an animal, I would be

A dolphin or a seahorse

Songs on repeat right now

LoveHate Thing feat. Sam Drew by Wale


My mum is Moroccan and my father Austrian

Bikini or one-piece


If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, it would be